Community SPN Banner


SPN's committees and task forces are working groups comprised of dedicated volunteers who contribute time and effort to achieving annual goals. The Chair and Chair-Elect of committees are appointed by SPN leadership, and both committee and task force work is integral to the fulfillment of SPN's strategic goals. Please review this year’s committee goals and consider serving on a committee to grow your network and share your expertise. Note that SPN’s Willingness to Serve survey opens every January and is your opportunity to state your interest in volunteering.

Chapter Development & Support Committee 

This committee helps identify the needs of chapters, makes recommendations to the Board for chartering new chapters, and recommends policies and procedures relating to chapters. 

Chair: Laura Tassin, MHA, BSN, RN, CPN
Chair Elect: Kate Anderson Bogue, DNP, APRN, FNP-C, CPN
Jennifer Lombardi, SPN Board Liaison  SE Representative - Kari Wheeler, BSN, RN, BMTCN, CPHON, CPN
Mid-Central Representative - Julie Perry, PhD, RN NE Representative - Kimberly Seaman, PhD, RN-BC, CNE
West Coast Representative - Abbie Garcia, MSN, RN, CPN NC Representative - Rebecca Johnson
SC Representative - Stephanie Coig, MBA, BSN, RN, NEA-BC, CPN  


Clinical Practice and Research Committee

This committee develops the content for various projects as charged by the Board of Directors, and reviews abstracts for the SPN Annual Conference. 

Chair: Darlene Acorda, PhD, RN, CNE, CPNP-PC Chair Elect: Beth Fisher, DNP, APRN, CPNP, CPON
Sara Culling, RN, MSN, CPN Michelle Ness, PhD, MSN, RN
Cherie Rothaupt, DNP, RN, CPN Penelope Neal, PhD, CPNP
Lori Williams, DNP, RN, RNC-NIC, CCRN, NNP-BC Julie Van Orne, MSN
Brittney Anderson Mary Laurette Hughes, PhD
Jodi Herron Behr, PhD, RN, RNC-NIC, ACCNS-P Valerie Lapp, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, CPN
Kelly Smith Carin Adams, PhD, RN, CPN
Jennifer Stephen, SPN Board Liaison   


Program Planning Committee

This committee develops educational content for SPN’s Annual Conference. Members of the committee support the American Nursing Credentialing Center-Commission on Accreditation (ANCC-COA) guidelines and work in collaboration with the Director of Programs.

Chair: Daniel Marx, MHSA, MSN, RN, CPN  Chair Elect: Jennifer Mahieu, DNP, MSN, RN
Nicole Smith, PhD, RN, CPN Lori Williams, DNP, RN, RNC-NIC, CCRN, NNP-BC
Michelle High, MSN, RN, CNL, CPN Kimberly Zalewski, BSN, RN, CPN
Gayla Goleman, SPN Board Liaison  Tina Spagnola (SPN Director of Programs)

Nominating Committee

This committee is the only SPN committee with elected members. Committee members are responsible for recruiting eligible candidates for the annual election. Self-nomination to be considered a candidate for the committee is encouraged.

Chair: LaDonna Northington, DNS, RN-BC  
Michele Mendes, PHD, RN, CPN Laura Kubin, PhD, RN, CPN, CHES, CNE
Kim Peterson, SPN Board Liaison   Julie Perry, MSN


Educational Products and Services Committee

This committee facilitates and creates activities, products and services that addresses the educational needs of SPN members and pediatric nurses.

Chair: Margaux Chan, DNP, RN, PHN, NPD-BC, CPN Chair Elect: Erin Franklin, MSN, RN, CPN
Bridget Parsh, EdD, RN, CNS Tammy Rakowski Bowers, DNP, FNP-BC, CPN, CNEcl
Brandi O'Dell, MSN, RN, CPN  Fernanda Guerra, MSN, RN, CPN 
Christy Solorio, PhD, RN, CPN, CNE  
Amy Marks, SPN Board Liaison  Tina Spagnola  (SPN Director of Programs)


Healthcare Policy and Advocacy Committee

This committee provides oversight of pediatric health policy requests, issues and advocacy to educate and keep members up to date on current issues.  

Chair: Michelle Cole, DNP, MSN, RN, CPN  
Shelley Burke, DNP, MSN, RN, CPN Laura Kubin, PhD, RN, CPN, CHES, CNE
Heidi McNeely, MSN, RN, PCNS-BC Maria Panayotou, CPN
Niki Fogg, MS, RN, CPN Michelle Fenwick, BSN
Peggy ZyskBSN Blair Allison Malloux
 Michaela Lewis, SPN Board Liaison             


Awards Task Force

This task force reviews all award applications and nominations and selects the recipients. 

DeAnne Ellis, MSN, RN, CPN, PED-BC, CCRN Rebecca Logan, PhD, RN
Robert Dugan, DNP  Jodie Weatherly, DNP
Jennifer Baird, SPN Board Liaison   


Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Task Force

This task force educates larger pediatric nursing communities about diversity, equity, and inclusion.

Chair: Asma Taha, CPNP-AC/PC, PCNS, CCRN  
Anastasia Brennan, MSN, CPN Megan Dorrington, MSN, MBA, RN, NPD-BC, CPN
Victoria Stamp, BSN, CPN Jennifer Stephen, MSN, RN, CPN
Kathy Van Allen (SPN Board Liaison)